The province of Bocas del Toro features four protected areas, each of a different category covered within the Environmental Law that governs the National Environmental Authority (ANAM) and the National System of Protected Areas (SINAP).

It is noteworthy that all of them, together with the Volcan Baru National Park, Volcan Wetland Lagoons and Fortuna Forest Reserve, are core components of the Biosphere Reserve La Amistad.

Together, the protected areas of Bocas del Toro, which are within the SINAP, cover an area of 487.022 hectares of land (including some sectors that have passed to the Comarca Ngobe-Bugle) and over 11.596 hectares of sea.

The four protected areas, which have a management plan approved by ANAM, are:

In addition, there are several municipal reserves declared, not yet belong to SINAP: